Skip to main content

Ministry of Finance Entity Tender Committee Inaugurated

Ministry of Finance Entity Tender Committee Inaugurated

Accra, August 17, 2017 - A ten-member Entity Tender Committee (ETC) for the Ministry of Finance has been inaugurated in Accra.


The Committee, chaired by the Minister, Hon. Ken Ofori-Atta, includes Mrs. Elfreda Dankyi; Mr. Ernest Ofori Nyarko; Mr. Patrick Nomo; Mrs. Felicia Gyamfi Ashley; and Ms. Eva Mends.


Other members are Mr. Samuel D. Arkhurst; Mr. Abraham Kofi Tawiah; Ing. Magnus L. Quarshie; and Mr. Daniel Foli.


Inaugurating the Committee, the Deputy Minister for Finance, Hon Abena Osei Asare (MP) stated that the Committee’s ultimate role was to protect the public purse whilst ensuring a firm commitment to fairness, transparency, and objectivity.


She called on them to avoid conflicts of interest, exhibit integrity and professionalism in all their activities, and above all conduct themselves in such a manner as to maintain the trust and confidence of all stakeholders in the integrity of the procurement process.


Hon Deputy Minister indicated that the Committee, as per the Public Procurement (Amendment) Act, was responsible for the independent review of procurement processes for the Ministry of Finance, adding that the Ministry requires the ETC to ensure a high level of process integrity whilst adhering to all legal requirements as outlined.


Mr. Patrick Nomo, on behalf of the members, expressed their appreciation to the Ministry for the honour and privilege to serve the nation.


As stated in the Public Procurement Act 2003 (Act 663), the ETC is required to: review and approve annual Procurement Plans in accordance with Schedule 5 of the (Amendment) Act, 2016 (Act 914), and is required to review and approve quarterly updates of these procurement plans; Approve tender submissions;        Reject a submission with reasons; or Approve a submission, subject to clarifications or minor amendments. END.


Issued by the Public Relations Unit